AURIN Governance


Greg Tucker is Chair of the AURIN Management Board.  As former CEO of Maurice Blackburn lawyers, consultant to the OECD and former Professor and Head of Banking and Finance Department at Monash University, Greg brings a wealth of experience and expertise across industry, government and academia. He holds a Master of Laws and a Bachelor of Laws from Monash University.

Greg Tucker is a member of the board of the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre and Thompsons Solicitors LLP (London), as well as an advisory board member of Work Healthy Australia. He has previously served on the board of Natural Resource Systems and has been a member of the Prime Minister’s National Information Services Council Legal Working Group and the Victorian Government’s Data Protection Advisory Council. Greg also serves on several risk committees. In November 2022, Greg has also taken up a role as Chair at Matthews Steer Advisory Council.

Greg Tucker

Chair, AURIN

Senior Prof. Pascal Perez

Director, AURIN

Pascal Perez is the Director of AURIN. He is a specialist of integrative infrastructure modelling and socio-technological transitions.

Pascal is a Fellow of the Modelling and Simulation Society of Australia and New Zealand (MSSANZ) and a Fellow of the Royal Society of New South Wales. He is the Chair of the Australian Urban Research Infrastructure Network’s Scientific Advisory Committee (AURIN), as well as a member of the Executive Council of IOT Alliance Australia (IOTAA), and a member of the International Advisory Board of UK’s Collaboratorium for Research on Infrastructure and Cities (UKCRIC).

Linda Kristjanson AO is a Non-Executive Director of Seek Ltd, President of the National Stroke Foundation, and Chair of the Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre. She is a member of the Australian Council for International Education, a Non-Executive Director of Skalata Ventures Ltd, Education Australia Ltd, MinEx Cooperative Research Centre, Global Citizen Australia, and a member of the advisory board for the AI Group Centre for Education and Training.

From 2011 to 2020, Linda was Vice-Chancellor of Swinburne University of Technology, and upon her retirement was honoured with the title, Emeritus Professor.  Prior to this role she was Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research & Development) at Curtin University. Professor Kristjanson served as Chair of AuScope Ltd, and as a Non-Executive Director on the boards of the Australian Synchrotron, Australia’s Academic and Research Network (AARNet), and the Australian Housing and Urban Research Institute (AHURI).

Linda is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering. She was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in the 2017 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

Emeritus Prof. Linda Kristjanson AO

Non-executive Director, SEEK
President, National Stroke Foundation

Prof. Mark Stevenson

Professor of Urban Transport and Public Health, University of Melbourne

Mark Stevenson is an epidemiologist and Professor of Urban Transport and Public Health at the University of Melbourne, an appointment across the Melbourne Schools of Design, Engineering and Population and Global Health. He is a National Health and Medical Research Council (Australia) Research Fellow, an Honorary Professor in the Peking University Health Science Centre, China, and an advisor for injury to the Director General of the World Health Organisation.

He is the director of the Transport, Health and Urban Design research lab and has published over 220 peer-reviewed articles, books, book chapters and technical reports and procured more than $31 million in competitive research funding. Mark holds a PhD from the University of Western Australia and a Masters of Public Health from Curtin University.

Austin Ley is Manager Investment at Moira Shire Council. Previously he was the council’s Manager Economic Development, and was Manager Research and Knowledge for the City of Melbourne for twenty years, helping to develop Melbourne and position it as a knowledge city.

He has also worked across urban planning, economic policy and research for JLW Advisory Vic, Wilson Sayer Core, the Ministry for Planning and Environment and the Melbourne Metropolitan Board of Works. Austin holds a Master of Urban Planning from the University of Melbourne and a Bachelor of Economics and Politics from Monash University.

Austin Ley

 Manager, Economic Development, Moira Shire Council

Lesley Arnold

Director, Geospatial Frameworks


Lesley Arnold is director of Geospatial Frameworks and an independent consultant working with governments to develop strategies, policies, and implementation plans for spatial information reform, open data initiatives, spatial innovation, and the future geospatial information ecosystem.

Lesley works with the United Nations (UN) and World Bank supporting countries to strengthen their geospatial information management capabilities towards achieving the UN sustainable development goals.  She is a board director of AuScope, Adjunct at Curtin University, and chair of the Surveying and Spatial Science Institute (SSSI) Disaster Management and Recovery Special Interest Group.

Previously, Lesley was director at Landgate, responsible for Western Australia’s geographic information programs, and senior researcher for the Cooperative Research Centre for Spatial Information. She holds a PhD in Spatial Science from Curtin University.

Alison Rose is Chief of Geoscience Australia’s Space Division. Prior to her appointment, Alison led the Border Intelligence Support to Operations branch at the Department of Home Affairs providing integrated intelligence support to the Australian Border Force on migration systems, trade enforcement and border protection priorities.

Previously, Alison held senior executive positions within both the private and public sector, including Director of National Government Industry Solutions with Esri (a US-based GIS technology company), delivery of the Department of Defence’s corporate and geospatial ICT programs and projects and enterprise information management implementation, and leadership of the Australian Geospatial-Intelligence Organisation’s foundation mapping, advanced analytics, training and tradecraft, data and collection management, and customer services.

Alison Rose

Chief of Space Division, Geoscience Australia


Senior Prof. Pascal Perez

Director, AURIN

Distinguished Prof. Xuemei Bai

Urban Environment and Human Ecology Fellow, Academy of Social Sciences in Australia

Shaun Copley

Assistant Director, Geospatial Solutions Australian Bureau of Statistics

Phil Delaney

Deputy CEO, Frontier SI

Dr. Ben Evans

Associate Director, Research Engagements and Initiatives, National Computational Infrastructure Australia, Australian National University

Dr. Paula Hooper

Co-Director, Australian Urban Design Research Centre, The University of Western Australia

Prof. Hannah Badland

Deputy Director, Centre for Urban Research, RMIT University

Prof. Yan Liu

Professor of Geographical Information Science, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences, The University of Queensland

Julian Szafraniec

Principal & Partner, National Lead Data & Spatial Analysis, SGS Economics and Planning

Prof. Chris Leishman

UniSA Business, University of South Australia